By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies to improve your user experience, to offer you offers tailored to your interests and for the purpose of visitor statistics. For more information: click here

Why is Collagen So Important?

Why is collagen so important? 

The skin’s appearance has a major social impact, particularly on self-esteem and quality of life. 

The most apparent sign of aging is reflected on the skin. The skin’s overall functions decrease with age, the result of a combination of intrinsic and extrinsic factors :

  • intrinsic or chronological change occurs naturally over time, causing structural and functional changes in all layers of the skin;
  • extrinsic factors are largely environmental and lifestyle-related, such as pollution, smoking, and chronic sun exposure. Ultraviolet (UV) radiation from sun exposure is widely held to be the primary factor in premature aging of the skin, or photoaging.

Collagen’s Role

“Collagen is an abundant structural protein in all animals. In humans, collagen comprises one-third of the total protein, and accounts for three-quarters of the dry weight of skin.” (“Collagen structure and stability” by M. D. Shoulders and Ronald T.Raines).

Mostly found in the extracellular matrix of various body's connective tissues (cartilage, bones, skin), this naturally synthetized protein is produced by fibroblasts and consists of amino acids (particularly glycine, proline, and hydroxyproline) bound together to form a triple helix, providing structure and high resistance to traction forces.

In the skin, the process of collagen synthesis occurs within the dermis, the middle connective tissue layer (between the epidermis and the hypodermis), mainly composed of collagen and elastin fibers surrounded by a “ground substance” containing glycosaminoglycans, such as hyaluronic acid (“Histology, dermis” by Thomas M. Brown; Karthik Krishnamurthy). Collagen comprises the principal component of the dermis and, thanks to its rigidity and strength, creates the perfect functional matrix to maintain cutaneous integrity and preserve the skin’s firmness and suppleness over time.

The skin’s chronical aging as well as external stress cause the degradation and breakdown of collagen fibers in the dermis and the slowdown of collagen synthesis by fibroblasts, leading to sagging, wrinkles and other visible signs of aging (“Modulation of Skin Collagen Metabolism in Aged and Photoaged Human Skin In Vivo”, Journal of Investigative Dermatology, Volume 117, November 2001). For this reason, it is essential to adopt a specific skincare routine: 

  1. to shield the skin from damage caused by photo-aging
  2. to enhance collagen synthesis.  

Rivoli’s approach to preserving collagen and enhancing its synthesis

Chronic exposure to UV radiation as well as other harmful external aggressions induce oxidative stress and the increased synthesis and expression of Matrix metalloproteinases (MMPs), the enzyme responsible for the breakdown of connective tissue and the disruption of the skin’s structure. For this reason, Rivoli recognizes the use of anti-oxidant ingredients as essential and incorporates them into almost all of its formulas, in order to successfully counteract the negative effect of free radicals and preserve collagen fibers.

Moreover, to enhance the skin’s natural collagen production, Rivoli boosts its anti-aging treatments with what we call the “collagen precursor”, an active ingredient in ASPRivoli® technology. This valid alternative to injections and invasive collagen-boosting procedures is safe, effective and friendly to the skin: it is able to naturally re-launch synthesis of this structural protein, providing an anti-wrinkle effect equivalent to a collagen injection that is visible after just 15 days*.

Why is the precursor approach best for your skin?

Precursors are essential, basic elements that feed and boost the skin’s regenerative process.

What are its advantages?

Rivoli’s advanced collagen and elastin precursor ASPRivoli® is particularly compelling because, thanks to the essential building blocks it contains, it is able to boost the synthesis of cutaneous collagen and elastin. ASPRivoli® provides the skin with the ideal intake of amino acids (proline and lysine) to enhance collagen and elastin synthesis, the energy to activate the cellular process in fibroblasts (copper), and the specific enzyme responsible for finalizing the formation of functional collagen, thus preserving collagen structure and improving skin firmness and suppleness.

The following Rivoli products are formulated with ASPRivoli® collagen precursor:

L’Eau de Jour Brume Hydra-Protectrice Anti-Âge – Hydro-Protective Anti-Aging Mist

Le Décolleté Crème Liftante Lumière – Lifting Neck Cream

Le Visage Crème de Jour Jeunesse N°02 – Rejuvenating Day Cream N°02


Results indicate that these Rivoli treatments, formulated with high collagen-precursor concentrations, efficiently counteract the loss of firmness and the formation of wrinkles.

In-vivo test performed by the active ingredient’s supplier, on 20 volunteers, average age 61 years old, under dermatological control, twice daily application.

En poursuivant votre navigation sur notre site internet, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies destinés à améliorer votre expérience utilisateur, à vous proposer des offres ciblées et à réaliser des statistiques de visites. Pour en savoir plus, cliquez ici.

Collagène

L’importance du collagène

Notre peau joue un rôle prépondérant dans notre vie sociale. Elle affecte tout particulièrement notre estime de soi et notre qualité de vie.

Elle est aussi le reflet de notre âge et style de vie. Au fil des années sa fonction globale ralentit causée par l’action de facteurs intrinsèques et extrinsèques :

  • les facteurs intrinsèques ou changements chronologiques sont liés au vieillissement naturel de notre peau. Au fil du temps, ils participent aux changements structurels et fonctionnels, à l’intérieur même des différentes couches de celle-ci
  • les facteurs extrinsèques, quant à eux, sont largement causés par notre environnement et style de vie : pollution, tabac et expositions prolongées au soleil. Les UV (Radiations Ultra-Violet) émanant du soleil sont de loin le facteur principal du vieillissement prématuré de la peau, aussi appelé photo-vieillissement.

Quel est le rôle du collagène?

Selon M. D. Shoulders et Ronald T.Raines ( Collagen structure and stability) : « Le collagène est une protéine structurelle présente en abondance chez les mammifères. Chez les humains, elle compose le tiers des protéines et pour les trois quarts de la masse de la peau ».

On la retrouve tout particulièrement dans la matrice extracellulaire de plusieurs de nos tissus conjonctifs, tels que cartilage, os et peau. Cette protéine de synthèse naturelle est produite par les fibroblastes et consiste en une série d’acides-aminés (glycine, proline et hydroxyproline) formant une triple hélice, structure inextensible résistante aux fortes tractions.

Le processus de synthèse du collagène au sein de notre peau se trouve au niveau derme, dans la couche centrale des tissus conjonctifs, entre l’épiderme et l’hypoderme. Le derme est essentiellement composé de fibres de collagène et d’élastine, entouré d’une « substance élémentaire » contenant des glycosaminoglycanes tels que l’acide hyaluronique (“Histology, dermis” par Thomas M. Brown; Karthik Krishnamurthy). Principal composant du derme, le collagène crée la matrice fonctionnelle parfaite, qui grâce à sa rigidité et sa force, permet de maintenir l’intégrité cutanée et de préserver fermeté et souplesse.

Le vieillissement chronologique ainsi que les différentes formes de stress externes ont pour conséquence de dégrader et d’endommager les fibres du derme et de ralentir la synthèse de collagène à l’intérieur même des fibroblastes, déclenchant au passage le relâchement cutané, la formation des rides et autres signes de l’âge (“Modulation of Skin Collagen Metabolism in Aged and Photoaged Human Skin In Vivo”, Journal of Investigative Dermatology, Volume 117, November 2001). Pour cette raison, nous avons lieu de penser qu’il est essentiel de suivre un rituel de soin adapté qui va permettre de :

  1. protéger la peau contre les dommages liés au photo-vieillissement,
  2. de relancer la synthèse naturelle de collagène.

L’approche Rivoli : préserver le collagène et améliorer sa synthèse

L’exposition répétée aux UV et les agressions externes quotidiennes sont d’autant de facteurs déclencheurs du stress oxydatif, qui augmentent la production et les marqueurs de la Matrice métalloprotéinase (MMPs), enzyme responsable de la dégradation des tissus conjonctifs et de la structure cutanée.

Face à cela, Rivoli reconnait qu’incorporer des actifs antioxydants aux formules est essentiel pour lutter contre les effets néfastes des radicaux libres, et conserver les fibres de collagène ; de même que de relancer la production naturelle du collagène. C’est pourquoi, Rivoli intègre à ses traitements anti-âge un précurseur de collagène, ingrédient actif issu de la technologie ASPRivoli® ; l’alternative sûre, valide et prouvée face aux injections. De façon naturelle, tout en respectant la structure de la peau, cet actif augmente la synthèse de collagène et offre des effets antirides équivalent à une injection de collagène, après seulement 15 jours*.

Une approche qui serait la plus optimale pour votre peau

Les précurseurs sont des molécules essentielles au bon fonctionnement de la peau dans le but de la nourrir et de réactiver son processus de régénération.

Quels sont ses avantages ?

Le précurseur de collagène et d’élastine ASPRivoli® est particulièrement efficace, grâce aux molécules essentielles qu’il contient, puisqu’il booste la synthèse naturelle de la peau en collagène et élastine. La technologie ASPRivoli® fournit à la peau l’apport idéal en acides aminés (proline et lysine). Ses objectifs : augmenter la synthèse de collagène et d’élastine en donnant l’énergie nécessaire permettant d’activer le processus cellulaire des fibroblastes (cuivre), pour amplifier l’enzyme responsable de conclure le processus de production du collagène fonctionnel. Sa finalité : conserver la structure de la peau et améliorer ainsi fermeté et élasticité.

Découvrez les soins Rivoli formulés autour du précurseur de collagène et d’élastine :

L’Eau de Jour Brume Hydra-Protectrice Anti-Âge – Hydro-Protective Anti-Aging Mist

Le Décolleté Crème Liftante Lumière – Lifting Neck Cream

Le Visage Crème de Jour Jeunesse N°02 – Rejuvenating Day Cream N°02


Les résultats des tests cliniques effectués sur ces traitements démontrent qu’ils permettent de lutter efficacement contre la perte de fermeté et la formation des rides.


* Tests In-vivo tests réalisés sur l’actif par un panel de 20 volontaires âgés en moyenne de 61ans. Effectués sous contrôle dermatologique avec une application bi-journalière.

⌃Retour en haut de page